Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Jan 20, 2005, 5:00 PM   #1

Bear with me - I'm new to this! I'm looking at my brand new ist DS with misgivings, because there are two expensive looking batteries which say "Do not recharge." Surely there must be long-lasting battreries that CAN be recharged, apart from the rechargeable A batteries?
RobertSL is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 20, 2005, 10:17 PM   #2

Robert,

I have had great results with the Eveready NiMH AA rechargables. They used to be the largest capacity available at 2300 mAH each. I have them in everything AA that I have. As a result, I was running short so I bought some more at Sam's Club 19-Jan. I was very surprised to see they are now up to a whopping 2500 mAH!

Get 'em, they work great....

Dan Eggert
dceggert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2005, 1:17 AM   #3
Administrator

See pg 4 of my *ist DS review, we have links to the different battery types you can use in this camera.

http://www.steves-digicams.com/2004_...istds_pg4.html

steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2005, 4:46 AM   #4

Many thanks, Dan and Steve. Such a prompt reply! Bless you both!
RobertSL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2005, 1:04 PM   #5

I bought a DS over the holidays and have been disappointed with the Nicad performance of my batteries. Last night I put in two sets of Nicads thatwere fully charged only two weeks ago. I put in the camera and only got two or three shots until they went dead. I know Nicads go down while just sittingin the camera bag - but this is ridiculous.I guess I'm going to have to spring$50.00 and get the rechargable CR3s! I guess the D70 would not have given me this problem! Even with its proprietary battery!
Gosman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2005, 7:33 AM   #6

Gosman wrote:
Quote: