Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Jan 24, 2005, 2:16 PM   #1

Hi all, newbie here

I have read from various tests and user review online that the *ist DS is slow(er) in focusing, compared to it's rivals.

I have had a quick play in the shop over the weekend and it does feel slower to lock on than the D70. If the D70 is any size near the ist DS i would have bought it, but it really is too bulky.

I travel a lot and portability of a camera is very important.

What's your experiences? Is it noticable? problem gets in the way while you taking pictures?

Also what's the likely cause of the slow focusing? Is it the focusing system's fault or the lens (slower motor than the D70?).

Focusing speed, under complex lighting situration is also very important to me, as I take a lot of pictures of fish (very fast moving object) in a marine coral aquarium environment, through the glass. The lighitng is usually Metal halide lighting of 150W, so moderate light.

Does any ist DS owners have coral tanks that they took pictures for?

Thanks very much in advance!

Katsura is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 25, 2005, 1:55 AM   #2

Well, I've had my *ist DS now since just before Christmas. I find that in some situations (low contrast subject), that the focus will take a second or two to lock, but 95% of the time, the focus is just fine. The Canon 20D is certainly faster (and bigger and $600 more), but I don't find the *ist DS to be slower than the Nikon D70by any noticeable amount.