Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Jun 15, 2005, 12:38 PM   #1

I've surfed around and am interested in the DL and the Rebel XT. I'm a dSLR newbie and don't have any lenses to re-use.

Asking a few of my dSLR friends, everyone recommends the Canon, but I can't stomach the bad ergonomics and buying anything that says 'Rebel' on it (although we love Agassi!).

Can anyone verify whether the startup time and continuous shooting mode is much worse compared to the Rebel XT? In terms of the auto-focus points, what does it really mean if it's 3 versus 11? Same goes for the viewfinder difference - what does it mean?

As you can probably tell from my questions, I'm more of a point and shoot person but want the continuous shooting modes and fast startup times to capture our baby and just want something relatively simple although I'll play around with the aperture priority mode at some point.

Lastly, any update exactly when the DL will be available in July? Is Pentax usually accurate with those dates?

Thanks,
jonglee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 15, 2005, 2:23 PM   #2

You could ask about CMOS vs CCD.

How are you doing on finding lenses for each camera?
Panzergnome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2005, 6:33 PM   #3

Are you quite sure you need a dslr? I'm only asking because you said that you're more of a P&S person and dslrs are definitlely not. A lot of the digicams today have full manual features. I myself have been using the Minolta Z3 for several months and it's a great little camera (4mp,with continuous and progressive capture, 12x optical zoom). There are more more capable ultrazooms in the market but their costs are not that far away from the entry level dslrs.