Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Jun 25, 2005, 7:16 PM   #1

I would like to submit several digital photos taken with the Pentax 1stDS WITHOUT FLASH.

This sample was taken with my Pentax 1stDS using a Sigma 28-300mm lens. The ISO was 3200, the exposure was F 5.0 at 1/125th

If anyone is interested, we can walk through exactly how to do this, if we do it before 06/27 when I have to leave to do Digital Camera Workshops in Russia. I will be back around 07/20.

Sarah Joyce
Attached Images

speaklightly is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 26, 2005, 12:32 AM   #2

Set the ISO to 3200, the shutter to 125,f to f5. Focus. What else?
Panzergnome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2005, 2:48 AM   #3

Uh...just a newbie here but I believe that shot could've been taken at ISO 800 or 1600-WITHOUT FLASH. Here's one of my son taken handheld with the kit lens (no flash). ISO 800, shutter at 1/8, aperture at f/3.5, focal length 27mm. It was taken at around 5:45 am so it was still a bit dark inside the house.

Nols
Attached Images

Nols is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2005, 2:50 AM   #4

Both shots are quite good, im impressed I cant see any visible noise.

Perhaps the people in that show were moving quite fast and a shutter of 1/8 (which Nols used) wouldve been way too slow, and hence needing the higher ISO to use a faster shutter
errno_gmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2005, 3:01 AM   #5

You're probably right. I did not consider that. There's no info regarding subject distance and focal length also so we really can't tell if a lower ISO speed was possible. Still, you'd expect that stage performances like those to be brightly lit. Don't know if they'd allow flash though.

Nols
Old Jun 26, 2005, 7:30 PM   #6