Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Nov 4, 2005, 4:22 PM   #1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

this topic kind of got OT so i'll start a new one.
http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...mp;forum_id=80

i just got off the phone with chris who did not know and was transfered to his super at pentax usa. rachel told me pentax flashes were on the high side so we had a lot to work with but did not know the exact max but was pretty sure it's in the 200volt range. she will check for sure with their tech and get back to me mon. or tues..

i just checked my af400ftz and it's at 3.25 volts. checked and old vivitar 3500 and it was 10.18volts. techs at fuji told me max 10volts but i've seen where fuji has posted a max for the s7000 at 400volts.. go figure..
i do know that some of the older flashes could produce trigger voltages of over 400volts.

roy
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 4, 2005, 8:00 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 112
Default

Thanks Robar!!! I`d sure hate to "toast" a new camera `cause of a flash trigger voltage issue! Keep us informed if ya would please,...and thanks a JILLION! :G

S`later, JH
John H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2005, 2:36 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
errno_gmm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 518
Default

Surely there must be some sort of fuse in the body of camera, I highly doubt it possible to kill a camera in this method?
errno_gmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2005, 4:54 AM   #4
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

errno_gmm wrote:
Quote:
Surely there must be some sort of fuse in the body of camera, I highly doubt it possible to kill a camera in this method?
do your research.. it's completely possible.. even if there is a fuse, how do you access it??? there's many a tale of toasted cams from to high a trigger voltage w/off brand flashes..
  Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2005, 2:01 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 99
Default

errno_gmm wrote:
Quote:
Surely there must be some sort of fuse in the body of camera, I highly doubt it possible to kill a camera in this method?

No fuse, "just" a semiconductor, that will be blown away!:?



Maximum trigger-voltage is 30V (Info from Pentax-service germany )

Trigger-voltages of common flashes you can find HERE:

http://www.botzilla.com/photo/strobeVolts.html

On our Site I collected some infos. On

http://www.tekade.de/news/html/bastler.html

you find a link to build a flash-Slave (Diagram & print-laout) and a voltage regulator for VERY old flashes ("Spannungsregler") If you need infos to be translated, just mail!




tekade_alfred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2005, 7:02 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 112
Default

DANKE Alfred!!!

I think it`s about time for meto go shopping!

I now have to decide on the DS, or maybe, the DS2.

S`later, JH :G
John H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2005, 7:30 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Gumnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,259
Default

wow
it looks like my metz 45CT-1 can cook eggs let alone my camera
600 V

thanks for the link to the flash page

it looks like i will have to not use it or figure out a remote trigger of some sort
Gumnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2005, 9:16 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 99
Default

Gumnut wrote:
Quote:
wow
it looks like my metz 45CT-1 can cook eggs let alone my camera
600 V

thanks for the link to the flash page

it looks like i will have to not use it or figure out a remote trigger of some sort
Hi, Gumnut, on

http://www.heise.de/ct/ftp/projekte/blitzhilfe/

you find a Diagram how to build a voltage-regulator (easy) and a description in german- If you need translation, just mail

tekade_alfred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2005, 8:21 PM   #9
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

al,
thanks for the links. your site seems very well done.. wish it all was in english tho.. or a translation.

there is a hotshoe attachment called ''safe sync'' that limits to about 5volts but costs about $40us. and attaches to the hotshoe.

600volts IS way too much!!

pentaxUS has not called me about this even tho they said mon or tues.
i give them a call tomorrow if i remember. i hate it when a company says they'll do something and not follow thru..

roy


  Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2005, 11:39 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Gumnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,259
Default

i wish you hadnt said "easy" tekade alfred

my German is non existsnt

but my electrish (electrical language) is even worse

i have no idea what those symbols mean

the safe synch sounds interesting

another thought i had was some sort of remote trigger, so the flash doesnt even need to be connected

maybe triggered by the on camera flash?
Gumnut is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 3:28 PM.