Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Nov 9, 2005, 5:49 PM   #1

Hi, I'm new to theSLR camera world, and recently bought a Pentax *ist DS body and 18-55mm lenscombo. I'm very happy with it so far, and have learned a lot about photography from lurking on this board. Now I'm ready to buy a zoom lens to compliment the default 18-55mm lens, but I really don't know what to look for.

According to the review, this camera is compatible with Pentax K, KA, KAF, and KAF2 mount lenses; screw mount lenses, 645, and 67 series lenses (adapter required)

Can somebody explainwhat mountis better, and what the differences are? What should I be looking for in a beginner-grade zoom lens?

Thanks a lot, mutty
mutty is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 9, 2005, 9:25 PM   #2

mutty
i know a number of people , including myself, that went w/the sigma 70-300mm. there's 3 versions of this lens. the non-APO, the DL, and the APO. you can get the non and the DL for around $100us or the APO for around $180. tamron and sigma also offer 2 lens sets for around $129. my APO has given me many great images. all of the above also offer macro at 1:2 ratio from about 3' distance.. i recently sold a prospec(made by sigma) 75-300mm that was sharper than the APO in all ranges but only offered macro at a 1:4 ratio. hope this helps.

roy
Old Nov 9, 2005, 10:13 PM   #3

Mutty, welcome to the world of Pentax DSLR - you'll be pleased, and one of the reasons is that there is so many choices available to you.