Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jan 29, 2006, 2:42 PM   #31
Senior Member
 
bilybianca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hassleholm, Sweden
Posts: 3,435
Default

I use Adobe Elements3 to open my PEF (Pentax RAW) files. What happens if I save them as "Photoshop RAW"? Will I loose data, or do I get the same RAW in an other format? This digital darkroom really is something new compared to darkness, smells and temerature measuring.

Kjell
bilybianca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2006, 11:10 AM   #32
Senior Member
 
Catbells's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 874
Default

bilybianca wrote:
Quote:
I use Adobe Elements3 to open my PEF (Pentax RAW) files. What happens if I save them as "Photoshop RAW"? Will I loose data, or do I get the same RAW in an other format? This digital darkroom really is something new compared to darkness, smells and temerature measuring.

Kjell
The RAW output from the camera i.e. PEF files is different to the RAW file saved in Photoshop & yes some data will probably be lost.

Obviously, the *.RAW Photoshop file will not obliterate the camera *.PEF file which contains the necessary data to decode the image.
Catbells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2006, 3:44 PM   #33
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

bilybianca wrote:
Quote:
I use Adobe Elements3 to open my PEF (Pentax RAW) files. What happens if I save them as "Photoshop RAW"? Will I loose data, or do I get the same RAW in an other format? This digital darkroom really is something new compared to darkness, smells and temerature measuring.

Kjell
read this.
http://www.adobe.com/products/dng/main.html
  Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2006, 4:13 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
bilybianca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hassleholm, Sweden
Posts: 3,435
Default

Thanks Roy, I've downloaded it and will install tomorrow to see what it can do for me. Hope Pentax turns to DNG. Will it be possible for older models (read: my DS) with a firmware upgrade?

Kjell
bilybianca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2006, 8:46 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 344
Default

Just wish to make a short remark that besides the functional difference of RAW and Jpeg, as others who replied have already suggested, there exists an obvious difference in quality and resolution between my *ist DS and *ist D's jpeg and RAW produced jpegs (both 24 bits in color depth). The difference can be viewed at full screen with care and can be found very easily at 100% even if you don't bother to pixel peep. Furthermore, the difference becomes more obvious with excellent Pentax optics which are mostly prime lenses.

IMHO, with any *ist D series camera, shooting RAW is the way to go. Don't use Jpeg mode unless it is a must.

Regards,
RiceHigh
http://www.geocities.com/ricehigh
RiceHigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2006, 4:20 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
Catbells's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 874
Default

Pentax Photolab v2-1 Upgrade

If you install the update to v2-1 then notice that RAW converted files look just like JPEGS straight out of the camera.

Personally, I like the output from v2 better than v2-1 even though v2 is slower to convert & crashes when processing large number of images.
Catbells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2006, 8:30 PM   #37
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 344
Default

Actually, I can see the difference with no matter which RAW convertor is checked against in-camera jpeg.

BTW, the moire/bayer artifacts look different somehow with PPL V1 against V2. But I found no big difference for V2.0 against V2.1.

If one wants to have more detailed pictures, I recommend SilkyPix (but then the noise suppression by default is no as good as the PPL 2)

Cheers,
RiceHigh
http://www.geocities.com/ricehigh
RiceHigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2006, 2:14 PM   #38
Senior Member
 
Monza76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,093
Default

I shot a cast portrait for the local amateur drama group last night, however, in all the commotion I left the camera in jpeg mode, well the results are OK. I have shot in RAW and used both the Pentax lab software and the latest Adobe Camera RAW (which gives excellent results) and RiceHigh is definitely right about the quality of the Pentax RAW images, they are far smoother with sharper transitions and nicer colour.

The saving grace about last night's shoot was that I converted the images to black and white which looked much nicer.

Ira
Monza76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2006, 3:17 PM   #39
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

ira, you're correct IMHO. of course i got hooked a long time ago.. once you get use to raw your images will improve.. B&W just saw a tut over at bbr, i'll post it separately.
  Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2006, 5:26 PM   #40
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 250
Default

Holy cow! One shot I wanted to print (had to get converted to jpg to take down to printer) looked horrid next to the psd/raw. PS conversion max quality.
Panzergnome is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:56 PM.