Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Feb 2, 2006, 3:19 AM   #1

I think I am misunderstanding what or how metering works.
I understand the difference between multi-segment, center-weighted and spot metering.
What I dont understand is in the manual and in the 'C' options theres a setting that allows you to choose the metering time from 3,10 or 30 seconds.
I dont understand what effect this has and how to really use this feature.
When does this 10 (or 3 or 30) seconds of metering take place? :?

Sorry if this is a really stupid question, im just getting into photography and dont fully understand all the terms/features yet.
Could someone with an *ist DL or similar model explain how I would meter a scene to get the correct exposure.

Thanks for reading, hope you can help :-)

PS, I did read the manual, it was helpful in parts, but doesn't really explain what these metering time values do, only how to change them in the options.
nadnerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 2, 2006, 4:19 AM   #2

This is a battery conservation feature.

The metering system gives a real time instantaneous reading of the light at any instant in time.

The Pentax programers figure that this time is long enough for you to compose your scene and make any changes in camera settings to suit the current conditions.

The final metering takes place after you have pressed the shutter release button, unless of course you are in fully manual mode.

This setting does not affect the way the camera meters the light, only the period of time it is operational and consuming battery power.

philneast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2006, 4:24 AM   #3