Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Feb 14, 2006, 12:01 AM   #1

I bought the Pentax DS with the 18-55mm lense.

I am new to photography and I dont really have a lot of money to spend. I would love to buy all new digital lense but then again I am afraid that I will break them or mess them up some how. I dont want to invest in a lot of money on lense right now, I will later though.

I was told that the Pentax DS was able to accept the older pentax lense from the past. Which lense WONT my DS work with?

I am looking at lense from ritzcam.com for the lense.
http://www.ritzcam.com/catalog/index.html
Click on View Online Catalog
On the left side they have Pentax K mount and Screw mount lense. Will they work for my camera?

Also anybody know how good is the site? I never heard of them before, but then again Im new to photography. Are they the same as ritzcamera?

What other place online that is a good place to buy used lense besides bhphoto.com
superakuma is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 14, 2006, 1:09 AM   #2

all k-mount will work on DS, screwmount will need the m42-K adapter.
errno_gmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2006, 9:34 AM   #3

get the pentax 50-200mm. that would give you a range of18-200mm. with 1.5 mag factor it would be equal to 28-300mm.. you probably won't need more. if you end up needing more reach then get a 400mm prime..
Old Feb 14, 2006, 10:40 AM   #4

I'm glad this topic came up because I can't quite make up my mind what I want to do. I have a Pentax F 70-210 that is broken and this week I should get the estimate on how much it will cost to fix. I also have a Kiron 80-200 that I've been using since I got my DS several weeks ago and it takes excellent pictures.