Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Mar 11, 2006, 9:58 AM   #1

Hi there,
today I stumbled about the Pentax *ist <something> at a local store for sale and since I had some time left I tried it and what shall I say... it felt very good in my hands, manuals are on the right place and it's not too overloaded, snappy performance...

Now I searched in the web a bit and found there are several very similar looking *ist dSLR's - can you please give a breakdown on the real differences? What I mean is... are there real differences in handling, battery life, performance, features or is it just 4 names for nearly the same camera?

I am an allround photographer trying to "catch a moment" - so no photosessions in a studio or with long preparations. I want to grab my cam, go out, shoot all day, don't want to miss too much shots due to the cam and don't want to carry a backpack full of special equipment with me.

So important is (besides the good image quality, dooh )
- camera should be ready to shot fast
- fast and safe/reliable AF and automatic/half automatic functions for the point&shoot pics
- reliable and fast AF in low light conditions or on moving objects (artists in a show, children playing, animals moving... just the average job, no highspeed car racing or heavy fast sports action)

I'd like to go for a good all-around lens kit with a bit of wide angle (missing that lots on my Oly starting at 36mm), so something around 28mm..200mm or the like would be great - any recommendations on that?

I am used to my analog Konica Minolta Dynax 500si and the digital Olympus C770 UZ, which I used far more than the Minolta now in the last year, so I am not the absolute beginner

Thanks in advance for your hints!
thkn777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 11, 2006, 12:23 PM   #2

after some more research in the web...