Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Apr 23, 2006, 9:41 AM   #1

i have just bought a ds+18-55 lense, i have read a lot of posts about raw, as i am new to digital slr i did not know what to expect, so i took two photos one in best jpeg and one in raw, i used the software that came with the camera in the automatic mode, but i could not tell them appart, do you think i should have used the manual mode and if so what settings would you recommend, lastly what should raw be saved to tiff or jpeg, and what are the differences, thank you for your help
keithturner is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 23, 2006, 11:44 AM   #2

If you are using Pentax Photolab v2-1 then the results that are experiencing are exactly what I achieved & even when RAW images are processed in manual mode they are still not much improved over JPEG.

The version of software that came with my *istDS was v2 which produces MUCH IMPROVED shots over PPL v2-1 - so much so that I've ditched PPL v2-1 & stuck with PPL v2 even though it crashes when trying to process in excess of 90 RAW images.

PPLv2 can be downloaded here in ISO format & burnt to CD using Ahead Nero (or whatever) - it's about 50Megs.

http://www.catbells.plus.com/Utiliti...PHOTOLABV2.ISO
Attached Images

Catbells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2006, 11:48 AM   #3

Previously, I've played some more with the RAW converters at my disposal & concluded that Pentax PhotoLab is closer to what might be expected when compared with JPEG - straight out of the camera.

Colours are more accurate with Pentax Photolab - overall sharpness is also better.

Full size image can be viewed here:

http://www.catbells.plus.com/Utiliti...Comparison.jpg