Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Apr 28, 2006, 10:59 AM   #1

Hey everyone - i'm a newbie here and I'm really sorry for probably bringing up another one of these damn threads about which lens to buy!

I've had my DS for 8 months now or so and I love it, but I am thinking of swapping lenses. I currently have the Sigma 18-50 lens and the Sigma 55-200 that came with the camera (I'm in Aus btw which probably won't change much!)

Anyway - I was wanting to change because I do a fair bit of travelling and the changing of the lenses gets annoying, and I don't want to get one of those 18-200 lenses because I hear they arent that great. The lenses I am looking at however are the Sigma 18-125 (I've heard so many good things about that!), and the Pentax 100-300 f/4.7-5.8, as well as the possibility of the Sigma 70-300 f/4-5.6.

Can you please give your opinions on which lens would be better? I am pretty much decided on the 18-125, but am unsure of the other two.
Patang is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 28, 2006, 12:44 PM   #2

Ill give you another option. the Penatx FA28-105 F3.2--4.5 . I leave it on my Camera all the time. As for the Sigma 70-300 great lense. I love it!!
If you check for the thread 'Sigma 70-300MM lense, i have posted Some pictures with It. I cannot speak about the others you mentioned.

BK
Black Knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2006, 1:05 PM   #3

Patang

I own the the Pentax FA100-300 f/4.7-5.8 which I got for a very good price. I have used it for quite a few of the pictures I have posted here. More information can be found here: http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...mp;forum_id=80 It has a plastic lens mount but I do not see that as a problem since it is very light weight for the range (great for travelling or backpacking).