Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old May 7, 2006, 12:21 PM   #1

Hi all,

Very informative forum here!

I am a complete photo amateur. I am considering a new digital camera and will most likely get a point and shoot with 10x or greater zoom. However, I currently own a Pentax ZX-50 with a 35-80mm lens, and an old Promaster One-Touch macro 80-200mm f4.5 lens (which I think was for a manual Pentax). I know nothing about lenses. What I'm wondering is if I should get a Pentax dSLR because I already have these lenses. Of course, that also depends on 1) whether these lenses will work with a Pentax dSLR, and 2) whether these lenses are good enough for it to matter?

Thanks for any guidance.
vincef is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 7, 2006, 1:27 PM   #2

I think the lenses should work. But even if they don't...the kit lens on the Pentax is "good enough". Buy a DL with kit lens....that will be cheaper than many of the point and shoots with 10X optical or greater. Then, you can try the lenses you have or look to the future for new lenses...and don't look back. I have a Pany FZ5 with 12X optical and I love it....but I wouldn't hesitate to give it up WAY before the DL I recently purchased.
ccd333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2006, 2:13 PM   #3

Thanks for the quick reply! I'm a pretty lousy photographer right now with a baby on the way. Is the DL a good camera for a newbie? Basically, would I be able to turn it on and quickly snap shots of the baby without worrying about changing settings, etc.?
Old May 7, 2006, 4:23 PM   #4