Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old May 24, 2006, 7:32 PM   #1

Came by the feeder while I was BBQing tonight. Stock lens (18-55), shot in RAW and converted in Pentax photolab. Then just cropped and made into a composite. These guys are hard to "catch" but great fun to watch :-) Hope to get a bit closer and more detail once my Sigma 24-135 gets back from the repair shop. Think a flash would help to show how beautiful they are. Anyone have other hints for making better pics of these guys?

Cheers, Mike
Attached Images

mgedit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 24, 2006, 7:38 PM   #2

Hi

I am just A Novice at Bird pictures, But the advice Given me was to Use a tripod and the bigger the lense the better. I actually Got a 1.4x teleconverter to Use With My 70-300 Sigma.

I am sure So more experianced people will post shortly

BK

Black Knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2006, 7:44 PM   #3

Sounds like great advice ... and a sure way to start down the path to LBA :-)

Cheers, Mike

mgedit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2006, 8:14 PM   #4

Black Knight wrote:
Quote:
Hi

I am just A Novice at Bird pictures, But the advice Given me was to Use a tripod and the bigger the lense the better. I actually Got a 1.4x teleconverter to Use With My 70-300 Sigma.
phil,
which 1.4 ext.??? how well does it work w/the 70-300? i've a couple of of 2Xs and they are dogs using that lens or any lens really..
Old May 24, 2006, 8:16 PM   #5

oh, mike. a flash will help a lot. a high speed sync flash will do wonders..
Old May 24, 2006, 9:06 PM   #6

This was the best I could do the other day. They are fast and hard to track to get a good shot. I like your composite photo.

ennacac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2006, 11:42 AM   #7