Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jun 6, 2006, 5:28 AM   #11
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

the kit lense lense focuses close enough.
the flash will work using it. give it a try and post what you get. this was taken with the 18-55. give it a try focusing as close as you can using HSS. TIA.

roy


Attached Images
 
  Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2006, 7:21 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Rufus T Firefly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Marshfield MA
Posts: 200
Default

Robar

I didn't have much time after work but here a few quick shots. The first one is naural light. The only PP I did is resizing. The exif info should be intact. I hope they give you a good idea of its capabilities. I would say I need a diffuser and a way to use it off camera.
Attached Images
 
Rufus T Firefly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2006, 7:22 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Rufus T Firefly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Marshfield MA
Posts: 200
Default

Tv 1/500
Attached Images
 
Rufus T Firefly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2006, 7:23 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Rufus T Firefly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Marshfield MA
Posts: 200
Default

Tv 1/1000 5.6
Attached Images
 
Rufus T Firefly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2006, 7:24 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Rufus T Firefly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Marshfield MA
Posts: 200
Default

Tv 1/1500 ev +1.0
Attached Images
 
Rufus T Firefly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2006, 5:32 AM   #16
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

that gives me an idea but how well does it work at smaller apertures like f16??

edit: getting the flash off camera is a must for macros. IMHO

roy

  Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2006, 3:55 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Fred666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 191
Default

How do you get the flash off camera and retain p-ttl. or is it a case of using the flash manually? If so, what type of extension cord do I need - I have the *ist DL2



Dal


Fred666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 7:32 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Peacekeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,024
Default

You need an "Off camera" hot shoe cord for TTL.

Pentax makes these

"Off camera shoe adapter" mounts on the bottom of your flash



"5P cord" connects it to a hot shoe adapter

"Hot shoe adapter" connects onto your camera.

This allows you to have the flash (depending on the length of your cord) mounted on a seperate stand off to one side or reflecting into an umbrella, or held out to one side at arms length in your hand to provide a different angle of light onto the subject being photographed.

Hope this helps. :|
Peacekeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 11:44 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Fred666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 191
Default

Yes, this makes sense.



Presumably I could use any flash then, with no worries about trigger voltage.


Fred666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 4:22 PM   #20
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

absolutely NOT!!! you are still passing the same current thru the wires..

i've got the 3 pieces of equip that crashman posted. B&H lists them for i think $106usd. i got mine off of ebay for $50 and consider it about the best money i've spent. here's my macro rig and a home made grip.


roy

Fred666 wrote:
Quote:
Yes, this makes sense.



Presumably I could use any flash then, with no worries about trigger voltage.

Attached Images
 
  Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 AM.