Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jun 4, 2006, 9:12 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
lgbalfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 125
Default

i am looking at buying a flash for my DL.

should i get the pentax AF360FGZ?

how about an after market one like a sigma, vivitar, sunpak, etc or should i stick with the pentax brand? thanks for your help.
lgbalfa is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 4, 2006, 10:33 AM   #2
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i think it's the sigma 500 super...
http://www.sigmaphoto.com/flashes/fl...ls.asp?id=3257
this one is about 225usd and provides high speed sync. it's definately on my list.

it's little brother is about 130usd and is still a great flash but no high speed sync.
http://www.sigmaphoto.com/flashes/fl...mp;navigator=1

roy
  Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2006, 10:42 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 64
Default

What is the advantage of a high speed sync?
TravisG5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2006, 3:33 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Rufus T Firefly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Marshfield MA
Posts: 200
Default

TravisG5 wrote:
Quote:
What is the advantage of a high speed sync?
The fastest shutter speed that the DL flashwill synch with is 1/180. Sometimes you need flash at faster speeds such as using fill flash outdoors. I bought the Sigma flash that Robar linked to and I am amazed at the results. I recently used it a wedding and got a lot of shots that never would have happened with the on-board flash. The best price I found was at Sigma4less.
Rufus T Firefly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2006, 6:53 PM   #5
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Rufus T Firefly wrote:
Quote:
TravisG5 wrote:
Quote:
What is the advantage of a high speed sync?
The fastest shutter speed that the DL flashwill synch with is 1/180. Sometimes you need flash at faster speeds such as using fill flash outdoors. I bought the Sigma flash that Robar linked to and I am amazed at the results. I recently used it a wedding and got a lot of shots that never would have happened with the on-board flash. The best price I found was at Sigma4less.
rufus,
i want the super's HSS for macros. can you shot a few say at 1/500+, f16-32?? subject matter is immaterial. i just want to see if it'll work at the macro level.

roy
  Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2006, 6:11 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
wadue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 914
Default

Hey guys,

I'm also in the market for an external flash (for my neice's wedding). I've been looking at the Sigma, which was also suggested here, but then I noticed the "off brand" (Digital Concepts, I beleive is what I saw on Ebay). I just was wondering if it's a case of "you get what you pay for" because the "ob" was almost half of $ of the Sigma.

Also, could someone recommend a decent bar to use with the camera & flash???

Thanks for all suggestions!!!

Ron
wadue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2006, 7:29 AM   #7
Member
 
Patang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 53
Default

I use a promaster FTD 7000M and it really isnt that bad. I got it second hand off ebay and it works great on my DS.
Patang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2006, 10:52 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 112
Default

Ya might want to check out the link below. I have the Sigma 500 and it works great with my DS. JH

http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...mp;forum_id=80
John H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2006, 5:17 PM   #9
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

3rd party flashes???? if you have the DL, DL2 then you are going to have to have a flash that will work in P-TTL or you will have to use the flash in manual mode.. as far as i know there are only 3 makers that support P-TTL and they are pentax, sigma, and metz.. those of us withe D or DS are fortunate to be able to use flashes that will support just TTL and there are a lot of them out there.. please remember this..

roy
  Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2006, 8:22 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Rufus T Firefly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Marshfield MA
Posts: 200
Default

robar wrote:
Quote:
rufus,
i want the super's HSS for macros. can you shot a few say at 1/500+, f16-32?? subject matter is immaterial. i just want to see if it'll work at the macro level.

roy
Hi Robar, sorry for not getting back sooner. Unfortunately I don't have a macro lens at the moment. I currently have the 18-55 kit lens, FA 80-200 4.7, and an old 50mm prime. I have yet to find my old macro lens (28mm I think)from the late 70's. I assume I would also need something to get the flash off of the camera unless it's a lens with long reach. If you have any thoughts on it let me know.
Rufus T Firefly is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 PM.