Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Jun 12, 2006, 8:47 PM   #1

I love lightning, I've been shooting lightning pictures for 20 years, the past two on digital. I've successfully shot lightning with a Cannon point and shoot, Cannon EOS Rebel and lately the Pentax istDL. The Pentax' noise reduction means if you hold the shutter open for two minutes, you wait two minutes for noise reduction to work. When I shot lightning with the Rebel it didn't take all that time to do noise reduction and I still got good lightning from it. I tried turning noise reduction off on the Pentax the other day and got pink ugly noise so that's not an option. So questions.What's the difference between the Rebel's noise reduction and the istDL's?Anyone who turns off noise reduction on the Pentax, what do you use to process your pictures, especially time exposures?This is a lightning shot I got last weekend on a wimpy little storm that was dying rapidly.
Attached Images

jhacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 13, 2006, 12:02 AM   #2

Hope you don't mind, but I ran your photo through Neat Image. There's a free version that is a stand-alone program, or you can pay for the full version and it works as a plug-in for Photoshop. My last camera was a Panasonic FZ30 that's a very noisy camera, so I bought the full version. Makes a big difference - this is what it came up with using the auto settings.

Very nice photo, by the way!
Attached Images

mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2006, 11:14 AM   #3