Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Jun 18, 2006, 9:52 AM   #1
TDN

Hi,
I'm fairly new to photography (I've only really experimented for about a year and a half or so...If you don't count playing around with my granpa's old SLR )

Recently I got a great bargain on a *ist DL, so I got introduced into DSLR's

Now, I have terrible eyesight. ( -7 dioptry on my left eye, and -4 on the right, and a lot of other problems)
Nonetheless, I have a great love for photography (maybe because I've been looking trough lenses all my life ), and as long as everything is autofocussed, I have no problems taking decent shots.

However, since I'm still a student, my budget is very limited, so I'm looking around on ebay for older Pentax lenses that will fit my *ist DL. Mostly manual focus.

My problem is that due to my eyesight, I can hardly get the manual focus right with the standard focusing screen. (The old Nikon ME I got from my granpa had a split focus, which worked wonderfully for me)

So my question is: Do you have any recommendations to what my options are?
I found a topic from 2005 about this on here, but due to my inexperience, I wanted to ask you guys again.

What I'd like is a split focusing/rangefinder screen, like on my old Nikon ME, which will help me focus accurately without perfect eyesight.
Also, the nikon had a sort of ring around that split circle that distorted the image if it was focussed poorly. I don't know what it's called in my own language, let alone in English

Also, do you have any advice about replacing this screen myself? Would it be easy enough to not screw up with my shaky hands?

And what about
warranty? Would they notice if I put the old screen back if I ever would need repairs? Like, is there some sort of protection cover that makes the warranty void when broken?

And would it interfere with metering etc. on the *ist DL?