Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jul 6, 2006, 5:48 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
wadue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 914
Default

Great post, guys!!! I was hoping to get some of my own but my daughter has strep throat & was running a fever so no fireworks this time. However, St. Louis will be having their RiverSplash celebration again this summer, which means concerts & hopefully fireworks (they did last year). So hopefully, I'll be able to get down there for some shots. I got a few shots of B.B. King on stage last year w/ my zx-7 but the fireworks didn't turn out (really didn't know what I was doing:angry Butnow, Thanks to you all, I can try some more!

Thanks guys,

Ron


wadue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2006, 7:30 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
danielchtong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,888
Default

DR C,

Great info . Next time for firework shot I will try 8 - 16 sec and F8-16.
I had a quick look of your phase photos. Your dog pict stands out likely coming from FA*85mm as the other manual lens did not give focal length in the exif.
Both your firework and the dog pict are stunningly impressive.

Daniel


Dr. C wrote:
Quote:
biggyfry wrote:
Quote:
Great pictures Dr. C-

I used ISO 200, 15 seconds, f16, 18mm. A few were 8 seconds at f11, but I liked these better. Others are posted at http://www.pbase.com/drwindmill/forum, if you want to take a look. Each one has exif info. Perhaps you would to try a cable release, remote, or the delayed release as I did and see if you like the results better. : )

Thanks, Lawrence
danielchtong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2006, 9:02 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Dr. C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sequim, WA
Posts: 282
Default

danielchtong wrote:
Quote:
Your dog pict stands out likely coming from FA*85mm as the other manual lens did not give focal length in the exif.
Oops, I forgot about the manual lens pics, some with a M50 1.7 and others with a M135 3.5. I was thinking of the fireworks images for exif. Sorry.

The dog picture is with a Tamron 28-300.

Lawrence.



Dr. C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2006, 2:21 PM   #14
TDN
Senior Member
 
TDN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,288
Default

Gumnut wrote:
Quote:
cheaper than a remote

set thespeed to B

hold something black in front of the lens

remove the something occaisionally (grr i need spell check)

this way you get more than one firework per frame

it is hit and miss still

i have an example i did with my old Fuji here

http://johndolphin.net/photos/details.php?image_id=271

it only had a max of 16 seconds though
That's a great idea! Thanks for the tip!

TDN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2006, 8:32 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Wingman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hebron, Kentucky (northern Kentucky/Greater Cincinnati):KCVG
Posts: 4,322
Default

Dr C, nice shots of the fireworks. Re. exposure, what I typically do is to keep the shutter open (using a remote release cable) and cover the lens with a piece of cardboard until the rockets explode at which time I remove the cardboard cover off the lens. I repeat this process untill several rocket expolosions are captured. Unfortunately, I was unable to capture any shots of fireworks this year (was travelling on July 4th).

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"Jay
Wingman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2006, 10:34 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
mtngal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Frazier Park, CA
Posts: 16,052
Default

Question about remote release cables - is there a standard screw-in for cable releases? When we were packing up my Mom's house, I latched onto some of my father's very old photo stuff (over and above the Pentax equipment that he had already given me). One of the items was a cable release that he (or his father)probably purchased for a Contax (as I recall) camera that had probably been purchased in the '50s or possibly early 60s. It screws into a camera - would that work on a DS? I've never used one and am totally clueless.
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2006, 11:07 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Yog-Sothoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 18
Default

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...Pr4_PcY_BIN_IT

The *ist series use a submini stereo plug for the shutter and focus; an old threaded mechanical shutter release will not work.
Yog-Sothoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2006, 11:56 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
mtngal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Frazier Park, CA
Posts: 16,052
Default

Thanks for the info! I've never actually felt a need for one with what I do, but thought that if the one I had would work, I might play with it. Since it won't (yes, it is the threaded mechanical type) I don't think I'll bother for right now.
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2006, 5:31 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Gumnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,259
Default

opps silly me
to use the B setting you will need a remote
other than that you will have to use 30 seconds
which is long enough to get a few bursts in
Gumnut is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 2:20 AM.