Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Jul 17, 2006, 8:12 AM   #1

I bought a Pentax ist* DL about 2 weeks ago and i'm a novice in digital photo.

My problem is everytime i take a photo it looks to me that it alwys needs some work in PS to look best. I always try PS's "auto-levels", "auto contrast" or "Auto colors" to see wich looks best to me. Sometimes i try it manual. Is it normal in digital photography or i'm i just doing something wrong?

Thanks
illidan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 17, 2006, 8:15 AM   #2
TDN

it's normal when you have a new camera. Just play around with the settings etc a little, and eventually you'll be able to get "out of the box" shots

I've had my DL for about 2 months now, and I'm almost at that stage.

TDN
TDN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2006, 8:46 AM   #3

Would you upload a couple of the pict that you need to tweak with PS? Give all the setting as well if the exif is not there. Say aperture, shutter speed, lens used......etc. You may email me at danielchtong AT Yahoo Dot Com if you do not know how to post here.

Daniel

illidan wrote:
Quote:
I bought a Pentax ist* DL about 2 weeks ago and i'm a novice in digital photo.

My problem is everytime i take a photo it looks to me that it alwys needs some work in PS to look best. I always try PS's "auto-levels", "auto contrast" or "Auto colors" to see wich looks best to me. Sometimes i try it manual. Is it normal in digital photography or i'm i just doing something wrong?

Thanks
danielchtong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2006, 9:08 AM   #4
TDN

also, try messing around with the exposure compensation while in P-mode (or any mode...)

Just press the little "Av ±" button and spin the wheel under your thumb. This will correct the exposure for you with as many steps as you selected.