Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Jul 28, 2006, 11:25 AM   #1

I am somewhat new to Photography world, I do a lot of research, I never buy without trying but this one thing I need some expert advice:

I would like thoughts and opinions of these lenses:

Sigma 28-300mm F3.5-6.3 DG Macro

Sigma 28-200mm F3.5-5.6 DG MACRO

Sigma 70-300mm F4-5.6 APO DG Macro

I need a lense in the X - 200/300 range. From the research I have read the tamron and sigma seem to be the two players.

My type of Photography ranges from candid shoots at parties to nature photography, occasionally some sport photography. I would like to spend less than $600 on this paticular lense so I will make this an open forum hoping people will share the personal favorite lenses in this range.

If any more info is needes let me feel free to ask... I just don't want to purchase something I regret.

Thanks in advance

kmc512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 28, 2006, 12:49 PM   #2

I've got the Tamron 28-300mm andgotten somegood shots out of it. Although sometimes it's slow to autofocus or hunts longer than expected to find the focus.(I'll switch to manual focus and there ya go!)

In spite of that,was theTamron 28-300mmlensa good purchase ? For what I paid for, yes it was. no regrets at all.

NOTE: I must say that whenI'm close to mysubject I'd rather use the 18-55mm kit lens to get a wider shot if need be.

Later,

Rick

Mourrri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2006, 12:51 PM   #3

Welcome to the Forum

My vote is for the Sigma 70-300 APO DG. Great price and for the money takes great pictures. if you would like to see some pictures i took With it check out this thread

http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...mp;forum_id=80

Good luck with what ever you Choose

BK

Black Knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2006, 2:09 PM   #4
TDN