Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Jul 29, 2006, 2:54 PM   #1

New here and new to DSLR...I just bought a DL and I'm as green as the hills to DSLR's. I've been shooting p/s digitals for well over 4 years now but this is totally new to me. I've been lurking for a few days now and love all of the info on this forum. I got the Pentax kit but I want an everyday lens with more zoom. I need your help...Would this lens be a good everyday lens for me to start off with?

http://www.sigmaphoto.com/lenses/len...mp;navigator=2

Thanks for your help...
Marjorie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 29, 2006, 4:22 PM   #2

WELCOME MARJORIE, i'll look now that i got to be 1st.

roy
Old Jul 29, 2006, 4:26 PM   #3

you can get a faster one on ebay for only 100usd. quite a few here use it. some have had probs but nothing not fixable. ira(monza) swears by his. i'll let one of them tell about it.

roy
edit: have you thought about the pentax 50-200. ??
Old Jul 29, 2006, 4:30 PM   #4

Are you referring to this one Robar:

http://www.pentaxslr.com/lenses/lens_50_200
MadMikeSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2006, 4:45 PM   #5

Marjorie and Mike-

Yes, that is exactly the lens that Roy was referring to in his post above. The problem with the 28-135mm lens is that in actual use, due to the 1.5X lens additive, the lens really is a 42-200mm lens. The Pentax 20-200mm lens is a smaller (especially nice for traveling and camer bag stowage), handier because it is a very compact lens, and sharper than the Sigma lens.

The Tamron 28-300mm XR lens is also used by a lot of folks and is priced below $150, giving you even greater 42-450mm reach at a bargain price. So there are a couple of choices.