Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Aug 5, 2006, 5:28 PM   #1

This was a hard test to put together because when the photo's file size is reduced to meet the posting requirements of the Forum, the clues within the photos detailing the effectiveness of the K100D's AS feature are also shrunk or reduced.

I used the 18-55mm kit lens for this test and a slow shutter speed but still the differences can be seen but are not glaring. The images used are taken from full resolution images with no PP other than adding text and reducing the size.

I am no scientist, I am just a photographer, so please let me know what you think. Thanks!

MT/Sarah
Attached Images

mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 5, 2006, 6:04 PM   #2

There is a definate advantage, although not necessarily a huge advantage, here for the AS photo. Especially in the top right corner "Electronic Calculator" is much clearer with AS. What were the camera settings Sarah? Thanks for the pictures, the value of the K100's antishake is very interesting to me.

Thank you,

NonEntity
NonEntity1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2006, 6:31 PM   #3

Quote:
I am no scientist, I am just a photographer, so please let me know what you think. Thanks!
Sarah, I hope you don't mind a "noobish observation" but you are an experienced photographer and you learned to do this the old fashioned way (without aniti-shake):G. I agree with NE but perhaps the big advantage can't be seen at this focal length where your steady hand can counter shake. From what I've read, wouldn't the more apparent advantage be at a longer focal length, say at 200mm?

Just my thoughts. Appreciate the feedback on your new k100d.

Maw Harley
Maw Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2006, 6:34 PM   #4

What focal length and what exposures were used when taking those photos?

Also look at 100% crops.