Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Aug 7, 2006, 10:57 PM   #1

I'm new to the pentax forum, so sorry if I missed this somewhere.

I'm not sure if the 110 is even out yet, but from the limited reading I've done, isn't the 110 more of the replacement for ist DL, with the 100 being more of an upgrade?

I've been in the market for my first DSLR and I had been looking at the ist DL until a friend told me about the 100 & 110 coming out. In a way, I wish he wouldn't have said anything as I was pretty well sold on the ist, and the new cameras just complicated my decision making process.

The IS feature aside, which of the new models is more comparible to the ist DL? Am I just over thinking this (known to happen)? Should I just get the ist as planned or is the IS really worth the extra money and wait?
Basement Shows is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 7, 2006, 11:04 PM   #2

From my own quick observations and handling of the camera and the posts both here and at DPReview, I would say get the K100D. I have the DL.

It has 11 point AF, where as the DL has 3 point AF.
The K100D has apparently faster AF, better exposure, better quality JPG compresion.
Obviously the SR is a great added feature, turn it on if you want or leave it off..simple.

Physically to look at they are very similar and most non-users wouldn't see the difference.

I am not sure of the price difference, but I don't believe that the K100D is overpriced. My understanding is that there is alot of discounting of the DL to get them off the shelves to allow the K100D to come in.

Hope this helps

Crash

Peacekeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2006, 11:16 PM   #3

The only difference between K100D and K110D is Shake Reduction.