Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Aug 11, 2006, 9:49 AM   #1

I've been using a Fuji S5200 for the past six months or so and am just about ready to move to dSLR. I've mulled just about every body/lens combination in my expected price range, including K-M and Sony, due to existing Maxxum lens collectioin, but what I've found leaves me cold, so far.

I have done a little hypothetical shopping in the Pentax arena, however, and have found a couple of body plus lens combinations that seem to fit what I need/want as nearly as anything I've looked at:

DL body + 16-45 + 50-200 @ ~$850AR online
K100D body +16-45 + 50-200 @ ~$1100 online

The 16-45 is a good bit more expensive than the kit, of course, but comments I've seenelsewhere indicate that it is good glass, and would give me the 24mm equivalent that is missing from anybody's standardkit lens.

Any comments on the two alternative combo's above, would be appreciated, especialy from someone who has the 16-45.
TiA.

Eddie
FastEddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 11, 2006, 11:31 AM   #2

I have the 16-45. The price difference was painful when I bought my DS+lens kit, but now the pain is history and I still have the lens. If I hadn't spent the money on the lens I would probably have spent it on something less important, like food, and now I would have had nothing! I think you should think the same way about DL vs K100D.

The 16-45 lens is very good optically, and I appreciate the wide end beeing as wide as it is. But mechanically it is very plastic and feels cheap, when I compare to my older Pentax lenses. I must say I was disappointed by this when I got the lens. I don't think the 18-55 is any better in this respect, though.

Can someone comment on the 50-200's build quality? I've never had the opportunity to see one in real life, as Pentaxians are a rare breed around here.

Kjell