Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Aug 13, 2006, 8:38 PM   #1

I guess I should introduce myself first off. My name is Roger and I'm new to the field of photography. I was always a point and shoot guy. Just snap shots etc. Two weeks ago I broke down and bought a New Pentax ist DL. Couldn't pass up the price after rebate! I've taken some shots and I'm happy with the camera. But I have a million questions about everything from f-stops, ap settings, depth of field etc. But my first question isa bout this mythic 50mm lens.

What is so special about these lenses? What type shots are they good for? Portraits, landscapes,what? If I understand correctly a 50mm lens on my DL would act like a 75 mm. So should I buy a 35mm to get as close as I can to 50mm or are all the raves about the lens due to the difference? I see there are different types of pentax 50mm 1.4's and 1.7's. Being new Id like the easiest to use(yes I know I'll have to manually focus with it) so I'd really prefer the model NOT having to manually set the ap. Frankly because I have no bloody idea how to do so.Is that the A or the M? Will the flash respond to the lens as it should or do I have to manually set the flash as well? Do you guys hate me yet? I hope not!

Since I'm new here I don't know all the rules. Many sites frown on repeating of thread lines while others don't mind. I didn't want to intrude on someone elses thread with all these questions so........If having another thread about the 50mm is too much by all means delete this and I'll just try to search out the answers another way.

You have a pretty cool forum here. I think I'll stick around and learn something
Spiritbro77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 13, 2006, 8:49 PM   #2

You need the A version of manual focus lenses and the 50mm lenses are just fairly inexpensive very sharp lenses if you get either the 1.4 or 1.7.