Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Aug 14, 2006, 2:52 AM   #1

Hey all I was going to get the k100d (in a lens pack) and i was looking at the BOdy with sigma 18-55mm and the 55-200mm or the body and 18-200mm. Im no pro photographer so i dont need anything top notch.

I thought it would be nice to wrap up my otufit with just the 18-200mm isntead of the two lens which cover the same range.

Or, are all the lenses no good or will they do fine for my needs.
Noob in need of help
thx, Hoods
hoodsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 14, 2006, 4:02 AM   #2
TDN

I wouldn't take the 18-55mm nor the 55-200mm, didn't hear too much good about them...
If you go with 2 lenses, the Pentax DA 18-55mm and DA 50-200mm are a far better choice.

If you dont need top notch gear though, I think the 18-200mm might be decent. It'll at least be as good as the 18-55/55-200mm combination.

If you substract it from the kit price, what are you paying for this lens?

TDN
TDN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2006, 4:05 AM   #3

In a word, NO - the Sigma doesn't focus correctly from 135mm so you have to focus at 135mm (or less), then zoom in.

Also see review here:

http://www.photozone.de/8Reviews/len...3563/index.htm

Check out other threads in this forum where it's been recently covered.

The Tamron is slightly better BUT for optical quality use the Pentax 18-55mm & Pentax 50-200mm - OK it means having to change lens but at least they focus and produce sharp images.
Catbells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2006, 4:13 AM   #4

TDN wrote:
Quote:
I wouldn't take the 18-55mm nor the 55-200mm, didn't hear too much good about them...
If you go with 2 lenses, the Pentax DA 18-55mm and DA 50-200mm are a far better choice.

If you don't need top notch gear though, I think the 18-200mm might be decent. It'll at least be as good as the 18-55/55-200mm combination.