Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Aug 15, 2006, 6:59 PM   #1

Well since I am a noob to buying photo gear I dont know what the vaule of the products that I want to buy. Ebay has a nice selection of prime lense for our camera and I see that it goes from anywhere between $15 to $100 for the SAME lense.

Since I am shopping for a nice prime lense I want to know what price I should pay for that particual lense. I know it is kinda hard to put a price point on something without seeing it. But lets just say that the lense is in good working conditions and NO scratch on the glass.

How much should a person pay for these lense?

Pentax M 50mm 1.4
Pentax M 50mm 1.7
Pentax A 50mm 1.4
Pentax A 50mm 1.7

I recently bought a RMC Tokin II 28mm f2.8 manual lense on ebay for $18. It also had a 52mm Hoya UV [0] filter on it that seems to be in scratch free. Did I get ripped off or was it a good deal? What does that [0] means on the Hoya filter?

I also have a chance to buy a Pentax M 50mm f2 lense from the same person for $15. Do you think that is a steal? How does that lense compair to the quicker 1.7 brother? Should I go ahead and pick it up or should I wait for the 1.7? If it is a GOOD deal, let me know because I want to pick it up from him today before he list it up on sale.

I know this is a lot of question, but I would help me out an any other first timer when they are in the market for a Prime lense.

superakuma is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 15, 2006, 7:13 PM   #2

you need to include the entire cost. price + shipping. i've bought a number of things when the price was equal to or bellow the shipping price.

roy
Old Aug 15, 2006, 7:16 PM   #3

Hi superakuma