Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Aug 19, 2006, 11:27 AM   #1

Hello Everybody,

Bieng that I am a newbie and a proud owner of a DL, I have been looking at low cost lens options for beginners like me.

I found a pentax len at B&H Video for 99 bucks a pentax. Here are the specs:

Pentax Zoom Telephoto SMCP-FA 100-300 f/4.7-5.8 Auto Focus Lens.
I was thinking of adding this as a starter zoom lens for me. The price though sounds too good to be true. They do have the exact same (Model number and inventory number the same) listed also for $149.00 - Wierd huh?

I would like to hear your thoughts on this lens...and if it would be a gpood starter addition to my DL. I cannot affted a 50-200 DA lens right now!

F
fghouse2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 19, 2006, 12:54 PM   #2

If you check Keh.com you can find the same lens used for even less, if you have any interest in used. I asked a very similar question recently and Ira said that lens is decent for an inexpensive zoom. The thread is here:

http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...mp;forum_id=80

Tim
NonEntity1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2006, 12:51 AM   #3

I'm assuming you have the kit lens? Keep in mind that 35mm specs for lenses need to be multiplied by 1.5x to get the digital equivalent. The DA 50-200mm would be the best choice, but if you're on a tight budget keep an eye on eBay and keh.com for used lens in good condition.

I believe Ira has the Sigma 25-135mm which Cameta Camera is selling for $99. That would be a good walk-around lens to start with. If you're just looking for something with zoom, RitzCamera online is sellinga 80-200mm Pentax branded lens for $85 in their clearance section.
intence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2006, 8:52 AM   #4

Location: Hebron, Kentucky (northern Kentucky/Greater Cincinnati):KCVG