Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Aug 30, 2006, 7:48 PM   #1

I have been playing with my new DL. Got a 70-210mm Tamron lens that is MF. After looking in manual with no success I started playing around. At first when lens was put on I could not get it to take any pics. in any mode. Went into the Custom menu set up and played around until found the aperture ring setting and turned it on. Now the camera will take pictures. It seems that no matter where I set the aperture at my camera give the same reading for shutter speed. Why is this? I did a search on the forums, but had no luck finding anything. Also no matter where I turn program dial the LCD screen says AV priority. Is this my only choice?Also the aperture ring has an AE on far left side that locks the ring.

Thanks,

Chad
cjrenick is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 30, 2006, 10:09 PM   #2

Credit goes to Edvinas for this:

Quote:
Someone should make FAQ about using old lenses on digital Pentax bodies

To make them work you must do following:
1) Go to "Custom Setting" menu and set "Using aperture ring" to "Permitted". By default it is "Prohibited".
2) Set camera to "M" (Manual) mode.
3) Set aperture on your lense.
4) Measure exposure by pressing AE-L
5) Take a picture
6) return to step 5. If lighting conditions changed , return to step 4. If you change aperture, go to step 3

That's it!
Rufus T Firefly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2006, 10:42 PM   #3

Thanks Rufus!!!!

Just tried it and it worked. I had done a search on the forums, but had no luck finding anything. Sorry!!!

Another newbie question. Is there something special you do, because this lens has macro on it? There is an arrow right next to where it says macro. I guess what I am asking is what does that arrow have to do with macro?

Thanks Again,

Chad
Old Aug 30, 2006, 11:07 PM   #4