Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Aug 31, 2006, 1:11 PM   #1

Night shots aren't my normal thing, and there are lots of lights on in Vegas. I didn't worry about the AF because I was using my two fast manual lenses - a 24mm 2.8 and a 50mm 1.4. I found out about filter or lens flare - not quite sure which. I also took a photo that proved that SR does nothing for moving objects (won't bore you with that one!). All of these were taken at 200 ISO and have been pp in my usual way (crop in some cases, Smart sharpen, converted from raw with PhotoLab 3. The Eiffel Tower picture was rotated (can't quite get things straight!). Since this is my first try taking night photos, any suggestions would be gratefully accepted.

Pentax SMC-M 24mm 2.8 lens, 1/15 sec.
Attached Images

mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 31, 2006, 1:19 PM   #2

Construction is everywhere in Vegas. The cranes and construction in this shot is the resort going up near the Bellagio. On this computer (my lousy laptop's monitor), the colors are nice, but I don't know if they will look as good on something else. Same lens (I think) and 1/10 sec shutter speed.
Attached Images

Old Aug 31, 2006, 1:25 PM   #3

Final one - it's a pretty boring picture but I was interested to know if this is lens flare or filter flare. I didn't think to take off the UV filter at the time, so don't know if the problem was the filter or if it's the lens. The lights at the top of the picture reflect the headlights of the cars below. Shutter speed 1/20 sec. I know I can always clone or spot heal them away, but wondered if anyone would know what it was from. If filter flare, its easy to take off the filter. If lens flare, is there any way to avoid it in a scene like this? Thanks for any information!
Attached Images

Old Aug 31, 2006, 2:56 PM   #4