Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Sep 2, 2006, 8:28 PM   #1

Looking for the best budget lens for the IST DL.

Thanks.
reefanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 2, 2006, 9:11 PM   #2

I believe the manual macro of pentax 50mm are currently in the range of $45 -$165 at KEH. They are great lens for macro and for non-macro use too.

Daniel

reefanatic wrote:
Quote:
Looking for the best budget lens for the IST DL.

Thanks.
danielchtong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2006, 12:51 AM   #3

Hi Reefanatic,
I am pretty new to this also but let me throw in what I have learned. Older Kiron (Vivitar Series I, Lester A. Dine - same lens) 105mm 2.8 macro lenses seem to have a cult following and are often described as one of the best macros available. They seem to be going close to $200 on ebay. I lost two with bids around $180 and finally won one at $190. The lens has not arrived yet so I can't comment from personal experience.

I have a Sigma 28-80 lens that does 1:2 macros. I have been playing with it recently and it seems to do a good job but you have to get really close to use the 1:2 setting. I picked this lens up on ebay for $25.00 including shipping.

I am quickly learning that one man's expensive lens is another man's budget lens in this hobby so I don't know where your budget stands. For $25 though, I can recommend the Sigma. There are a some shots with this lens I posted tonight under Snail Attack and Trip to the Swamp threads.
HTH,

Tim
NonEntity1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2006, 8:55 AM   #4

when i saw my vivitar s1 105mmon ebay for BIN $129, i jumped on it.. it had not been listed for more than an hour.. it looks and feels like it set on the shelf for the last 20 years. image quality is fantastic. down side is that it's heavy and pretty long at 1:1 macro.
tim, you'll love the dine. build quality is unbelievable..

roy