Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Pentax

Old Oct 28, 2005, 8:41 PM   #1

I currently have the option to purchase either a Pentax istDS or a Canon S2IS for the same price. I have BOTH cameras here with me now and am trying to figure out wich one to return. Why DO I need or anyone else need an SLR ??

I have ONLY taken in door tests so far and.................. The S2IS is MUCH better for in door low light shooting. The Pentax is dark and needs alot of light. I have ONLY tested the two under low in door lighting so far.

I'm STILL undecided !!
videosilva is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 25, 2006, 4:37 PM   #2

I have been comparing cameras from internet reviews for the past year. I am new to digital cameras, having used a canon slr for years. However, I have not really used the slr to full potential as my needs did not demand it. But I used it a lot. I have read everything the internet and store magazines offer about the digital camera. I am like you in that I have been comparing entry level dslrs to the fixed lenses of similar price. I have also had an opportunity to try the canon s3is and found it to produce very nice results. But my best information comes from comparing the enlarged views of camera images on web sites like Steve's Digicams and www.dpreview.com. Their I discovered that the dslr always enlarges images better than the fixed lenses models. Since enlarged printing is important to me, I also need to know when an image quality difference that might be minor in a 4x6" image is going to be pronounced in the 20x24".