Here's the equipment I own:

Canon EOS Digital Rebel Xti

18 - 55 EFS Canon IS lens 3.5 - 5.6

55-250 EFS Canon IS lens 4.30 - 5.6

28 - 135 EF Canon 3.5 - 5.6

50 mm EF 1.8

430 EX Flash & Gary Fong's LightSphere II & Generic Tripod

Using what I have to do:

A: Indoor Portrait work, what combination of equipment AV / iso settings would you suggest I start with?

B: Outdoor Portrait work, what combination of equipment, AV / iso settings would you suggest I start with?

I'm new at this and I'm getting closer to good stuff, but right now I am not happy at all with the quality of work I'm doing. Maybe hearing from you guys a better place to start, will help me progress more quickly.

It's not my intention to turn pro. But I am tired of shooting bad shots.

I'm sure I need to upgrade equipment to get a lower f.stop, like the 2.5 range. That's not in the budget right now.

Thanks a bunch!

FP

FaithfulPastor is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 10, 2008, 2:28 PM   #2

Hi,
Don't think in terms of equiptment, think in what a story you want to tell.
Often the best work is done in natural light with whatever you have available.

If you want to use flash two are often very nice to have, or at least one with an off camera cord to use it on an angle.

Hope this helps.

Greetings,
Frank
Frank Doorhof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2008, 2:59 PM   #3

Dear Frank,

Thanks for your faith in me, but I'd really like to hear your thoughts when you start a indoor or outdoor portrait shoot. I'm guessing you start somewhere then make adjustments after you've seen your a few examples of your product.

So if you had my bag, which lens would you grab and where would you start with settings?

Thanks for your help. I appreciate the idea of telling the story.... but right now, I got no photos living "happily ever after!"

Michael

Old Nov 10, 2008, 6:13 PM   #4
Super Moderator

Hi Michael,