Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > People Photos

Old Apr 29, 2009, 1:47 PM   #1

A friend has asked me to photograph her and her jumping horse.

For the portraits (their two faces side by side pose) I'm thinking, 100mm, AP, 2.8f, flash, indoor/barn, with me about 12-15 feet away. Focus point on human face.

Does that sound about right?

Any other advice about photographing people and horses or horses? I'm somewhat concerned already about the horses reaction to a fill flash.

Faithfully yours,

FP

FaithfulPastor is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 29, 2009, 2:13 PM   #2

Hello FaithfulPastor,

I'm afraid to comment too much as I'm just learning this stuff myself right now, but with your mention of focal length, aperture, etc . . . I came across this on-line calculator that helps you figure out depth-of-field.

http://www.dofmaster.com/dofjs.html

Not sure if this helps you any.

Take care, yours truly,
Glen

tacticdesigns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2009, 6:38 PM   #3

I think you'll find those settings leave part of the horse's face out of focus. I might suggest you take several shots - changing aperture after each. My guess would be f5.6. In reality, I think with the proper background, the background would add to, rather than distract so shallow DOF would not be necessary.
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2009, 6:40 PM   #4

Thanks Tactfics;

I have seen this calculator before. It does a great job of giving me the distance in which items will be in focus.

My question is more about the set up in general. Is 12 feet a good distance? Is 100mm the right focal length? 2.8F?

Should I go time value and shoot at 1/360?

That's what I don't know and would like to get some advice on. But I sure appreciate your help.

FP
Old Apr 29, 2009, 6:42 PM   #5

Hi John,

How far away should I be from the subjects? 10feet? 15 feet?

Thanks!!

FP
Old Apr 30, 2009, 9:20 AM   #6

Hello FaithfulPastor,