Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > People Photos

Old Jul 16, 2009, 8:18 AM   #1

Default Getting it right

I'm posting this shot to get feedback on "group shots".
I'm an adjunct instructor for a local university and I take a photo of my students so on down the road, when I hear back from them, I can pull up their class photo and connect a name with a face.

My issue with group shots is getting everyone in sharp focus and I'm not sure I'm getting that done.

Here's the story behind this photo: F5.6 1/125 iso 400, pattern focus, shot with 24-70 APO EX DG HSM Sigma F 2.8 & Canon 5d mark II. I was standing about 12 feet away.
Attached Images

FaithfulPastor is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 16, 2009, 8:28 AM   #2

I also used a fill flash. It was about 7:00 pm in the evening. I am facing east, they are facing west and the sky is somewhat overcast.

I think that I should be in good shape when it comes to DOF with the settings I used. When I zoom in on this photo, (again, I'm looking for sharp photos) the guy in the red shirt has writing on his chest. It reads, "Walking for your" {This writing appears to be quite sharp, in the original}

The lady to his left is wearing a blue sweater that has writing on it "old navy 33-s" {This writing appears to be quite sharp, in the original}

But the guy to the right of the guy in the red shirt, his face looks fuzzy and blurry.

What am I doing wrong?

Is 1/125 too long? Is my dof calculation el stinko?
Very frustrating.

So please, if you have any ideas on how I can get group photo sharper, I'd really appreciate it. I know this shot is not a photo for a photo album, but one day I will be taking photos for exactly that purpose and I'd like to get my act together before then.