Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > People Photos

Old Apr 27, 2011, 9:32 AM   #1

Default Grand Central Bride and Groom

I saw this pair at Grand Central yesterday. I don't think they're an item (though I could be wrong). More likely they are actors promoting something -- weddings at Grand Central maybe? In any case, I thought it was great opportunity to practice wedding shots as I've never done that before and who knows it could always be an extra source of income.

I wanted to post this in the critique section but you're only allowed 1 photo there. So, if you can think of improving these shots, please by all means fire away. Thank you for looking.

#1) F4, 1/4 sec, 10mm focal length. Minimal Topaz Adjust adjustment.

#2) F4.5, 1/4 sec., 24mm. Minimal Topaz Adjust adjustment.

#3) F4.5, 1/13 sec, 24mm. I wanted to show details outside the window so I increased speed to about 1ev. Topaz Adjust brightened up and brought out details in the foreground.

#4) Out-of-camera of #3 above.
vvcarpio is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 27, 2011, 1:37 PM   #2

I think that portrait orientation would have helped.
tclune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2011, 2:34 PM   #3

It's a good achievement, but I would say that the ghost images are somewhat weird.
I don't know why, in this so difficult light situation, you're using ISO 100 and long exposures as 1/4".
Old Apr 27, 2011, 2:36 PM   #4

I like it...Bride & Groom....in the wedding garb in the most unlikely spot...Grand Central Station.

I also like all the normal activity...blurriness...in the background while the two 'lovebirds' are still and in clear focus.

Quirky....highly unusual....also use of a super wide angle...kind of different from the usual portrait lens.
lesmore49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2011, 3:33 PM   #5

Thanks a lot, tclune, Ordo, lesmore49. Your comments and suggestions were what I was looking for (because I didn't think of them).