Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > People Photos

Old Apr 5, 2004, 9:34 PM   #1

Default First photo post for a newbie

Hello,
I'm just getting started learning about lighting and portraiture. This is an image I took while at a relative's house on the spur of the moment when I noticed the lighting. It's natural light and handheld as I didn't have a tripod with me. I braced myself as best as I could. Exposure was 1/40 f2.8. The image has better highlights when viewed in Photoshop. I'm not sure why it is so dark when viewed with Internet Explorer. (I'm new with Photoshop as well). Anyway any comments are appreciated in regards to subject, lighting, exposure, photoshop... you name it! Anything to help me improve!

http://www.pbase.com/mlydy1/review
mlydy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 5, 2004, 9:47 PM   #2

Excellant photo.. Next time try a different appature setting, Say 5.6 this will make the Depth of field less, ensuring better focus on moms face just like the babies... Good luck
cowboy43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2004, 1:06 AM   #3

Wonderful capture of a intimate moment, lovely light.
Great first shot.

Greetings,
Frank
Frank Doorhof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2004, 8:13 AM   #4

Wonderful shot.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2004, 4:45 PM   #5

Great moment...preserved forever!

Wonderful light too.

digcamfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2004, 3:49 PM   #6

Thank you for the comments!
mlydy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2004, 8:11 PM   #7

Wonderful capture of a special moment between mother and child.

Quote:
The image has better highlights when viewed in Photoshop. I'm not sure why it is so dark when viewed with Internet Explorer. (I'm new with Photoshop as well).
I'm no expert but I believe that in photoshop you should convert the image to sRGB colorspace before uploading to the web. I asked the same question several months ago.