Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > People Photos

Old Apr 20, 2005, 7:07 PM   #1

ok folks.... a newbie here would like help in all catagories. I am using Fugi FinePix S5100 and currently have two 500 watt halogen lights, one on each side of subject, lights have silver and white umbrellas attached. I want to make these pictures look professional. Help me get lighting to bring out the best .....I welcome all comments.... good and bad... I want to learn.... until I can get more professional equipment this is all I have so give me your best shot... Thanks.... ConnieD

http://public.fotki.com/ConnieD/steves_forums/
ConnieD is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 20, 2005, 7:55 PM   #2

I'm more of a traditional artist than a photographer, so take this input with a grain of salt...

image 1: The red is fairly jarring. I know this sort of thing can be tricky to fix, but I think if you dial down the saturation there a little bit, it will help the overall image. I might also re-compose a little bit, cropping in a little tighter. The space at the top of the frame makes her look a little smaller, but I think it just a little too much dead space. The lighting overall seems a hair flat. I might try putting a kicker behind her for a little rim lighting. I'd also turn down one of the halogen lights so it isn't lit so evenly. Overall though I think the image is successful.

image 2: Similar comment to the composition. Since the tarp isn't really the subject of the photo, I'd probably have less of it in the frame (crop in closer). The lighting on this one is more successful that the last. I particularly like what's going on with her shoulder.

image 3: Same comment on composition. I really like the highlights you're getting in the eyes. I might move a little green out of the midtones.