Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > People Photos

Old Jun 29, 2005, 9:08 PM   #1

Hello all,

This is my first time shooting Senior Portraits, so be nice :-).

The shots were taken with a Canon Digital Rebel
With a Canon 50mm f/1.8 Mark II Lens
Camera was set in Aperture Priority Mode, with an aperture of f/1.8. All pictures were taken in RAW Mode

Out of the whole session, these are the 11 best pictures (inmy opinion)

-Travis-
tswen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 29, 2005, 9:58 PM   #2

#10 gets my vote although I don't like the DOF in most of them (1 & 6 are ok).

Why f1.8? Lots of great setting shots with blury setting.

Why RAW?

I'd push the white balance a little. It would help with the green teeth.
CCWKen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2005, 10:06 PM   #3

CCWKen,

thank you for the comments. the reason i chose f/1.8 was because from what i saw by going to other senior portrait companies. such as Atlantis, and Kipp photography (local business that almost every highschool senior goes to). All use very shallow depths of field. According to them, this is to draw attention to the subject, and NOT the background.

I talked with the photographers from both of these places, and both said that an aperture of f/1.8 or f/2.0 was used with 50mm and 85mm lenses.

I took their advice and set my camera the same way they did.

As for the green teeth??? They look fine on my monitor, and print fine, since both my monitor and printer and matched with color profiles. I'm not sure, but i might be your monitor. Anyone else see green teeth?
Old Jun 29, 2005, 11:08 PM   #4