Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > People Photos

Old Aug 12, 2005, 4:39 PM   #1

I am a complete newbie. Taken last Saturday with my S2. All areuncropped and unretouched (as of yet). Would love some refferals for learning composition....books, online, etc.

This is what I do, husband is in a band and am often assigned photo duties for his band and others.......

The outdoor, daytime ones seem easy - it is the club shots that are killing me. I am off to get a monopod to try for some different shotstonight.

DorsKA is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 12, 2005, 4:44 PM   #2

My (lame?) attempt at composing something a little differently.......my position isn't always optimal - these are heavier bands andI am kind of small and get smooshed alot if I don't position myself strategically.

Attached Images

Old Aug 12, 2005, 5:05 PM   #3

Don't be so hard on yourself! People don't realize how incredibly difficult it is to get good band shots! They never keep still and no matter where you move you are in the way! (try getting one of a drummer in action! HA!)
These turned out great so don't give up! Just don't get smooshed!
Rose
mommy_culleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2005, 5:09 PM   #4

My husband is a drummer - sigh - it is the bane of my existance........

Thank you!
Old Aug 13, 2005, 12:18 AM   #5

You got a nice view of the guitar player's PRS guitar in the second shot. I think they're pretty decent shots, actually. I like them.
Guitarman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2005, 8:15 AM   #6

That's o.k. dorska...............my husband is a bass player, daughter...vocals and bari sax, and son a drummer. Look at this way.....we get into all the gigs for free!

Good luck with shots of your husband! Any that I have tried to take of my son didn't work out too well. No matter how I try, the cymbals or guitarist block the shot!

Rose
mommy_culleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2005, 11:53 AM   #7