Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > People Photos

Old Feb 7, 2006, 5:02 AM   #1

Hi folks photos taken with 350d and the Photoshopped a touch or two.

What do you think? I welcome any feedback

stustaff is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 7, 2006, 7:21 AM   #2
Super Moderator

I am not an expert on portraiture, but the first one is taken with too short a lens making a very distorted image extending the nose. Go for a 70mm + lens to get a more natural shot.

The crop is interesting in and think I like it, but the jury is still out. The eyes are nice and sharp in the second one.
Mark1616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2006, 7:45 AM   #3

I agree on the lens choice.
On a 1.6 crop camera a 90mm is the best choice allround for portraits, or if you know what you are doing (not meant in a negative way) a 50mm can be wonderful.

Choose the angle very carefull because distortions are arround every corner .

I like the look of the second one.

Greetings,
Frank
Frank Doorhof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2006, 8:06 AM   #4

Thanks guys, these were amongst the first shots taken with a new CANON 50MM F1.8 LENS. and also may of got in a bit close!? as there is virtually no cropping from those shots.

Mark you right it does make her nose look big!

hence why on the second shot I used PS to reduce it a little.

frank any tips for that lens? Id also be interested what you think to the PS work on the second. most work was on the eyes, nose and skin, may have the original around here somewhere.
Old Feb 7, 2006, 11:05 PM   #5

Of course, it really comes down to personal taste. I really like the first one for the reasons stated for it being wrong. The model has a gorgeous 'cheeky' expression that I can't stop smiling at and I love how the distortion points to the eyes/nose area. It's almost like a charicature of herself.