Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Nov 11, 2006, 11:34 AM   #1

Taken on a S602Z. Sun was just off to the right.

Took it on auto, so I can't comment on what settings I did or didn't use

Was there anything I could have done to make it look better (I think it's pretty decent as it is) by using one of the other non-auto modes? I'm a novice when it comes to things like shutter speed and apeture, but I know roughly what they both do.

No PP done to the pic except some resizing in PS.

[EDIT - if the pic is too big I'll delete and resize / re upload]

Edit 2: By the way, I will welcome criticism on the actual artistic merit of the pic. I think I did quite well, there's little in the way of foreground to distract you, and I managed to capture (by accident ) the branch of the hawthorne tree in the top right, which I think frames it nicely.

Attached Images

Napalm83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 13, 2006, 2:03 AM   #2

Deleted text - double post!
RiaRia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2006, 2:08 AM   #3

Hello:

It seems to me that the most interesting part of your image is concentrated in a small area of the lower right-hand corner. Most people's eyes start looking at the left of an image, and then go toward the right side. If I was looking at this scene, I think I might have placed more emphasis on the fence line, which could help lead the eye into the image. (Something like the cropped version below?)

Well, everybody's viewpoint is different, but they are all valid. That's what makes photography so much fun, no? Cheers! Ria
Attached Images

Old Nov 13, 2006, 5:30 AM   #4

Good crop Thanks

I was looking at the clouds that day (really high altitude ice crystals - I don't know the name of them though) but now you mention it that area off to the right looks good. I may go out and experiment with that shot. This location is literally a 5 minute walk from my house.