Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Jan 1, 2007, 1:27 PM   #1

This is my first attempt at manipulating indoor light. I aimed a halogen light across the right side of the frame. I'd love to hear your thoughts on my lighting, or anything else I could use to improve these types of photos. Thanks!

Matt

mattroth54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 1, 2007, 4:09 PM   #2

Matt I would have set a piece of white poster board or another reflective surface on the left side so you don't get the shadows on that side. The poster board would have reflected some of the light back into the left side.

Did you also use your on camera flash? The reason I ask you have pin lights right in the pupils. If you did I would turn it off I think you will have enough light without it. Also your white balance is slightly off. It looks a little yellow to me.

but, you have a great subject to photograph, he's got a beautiful smile.
Sneezy1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2007, 7:25 PM   #3

The shot looks a litttle overexposed.

I would recommend the following:

1) move your subject another foot or two away from the background.

Move back your key light until you get a normal looking exposure. This could be several feet at least.

Use a reflector or even the flash on you camera as a "fill light".

Keep expermenting until you get a pleasing result.
terry@softreq.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2007, 8:17 PM   #4

I did use the camera flash for fill in this shot. I think I will try the reflector idea next time around. Could the white balance issue be related to the halogen light being too close? Either way, this is looking like the straw that may convert me to shooting in raw and figuring out how to use CS2 for .nef files. All great recommendations, thanks for the help.
Old Jan 2, 2007, 2:29 AM   #5