Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Feb 27, 2007, 11:40 PM   #1

Hey everyone.i'm kinda new to the whole photography thing, and something i've kinda been having trouble with is judging photographs. Such as what is or isn't wrong/right about a photograph. I can usually look at something and tell it just isn't right, but i have trouble editing it because i don't really know what is not right about it. waht are some tips as to how to get going in the right direction?
surfTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 28, 2007, 9:39 AM   #2

Surf can post a few of your photos to give you a better answer. Gives straight from the camera and one of your edited shots.

Thank you MLP.
MLPhotography2269 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2007, 10:33 AM   #3

ok here is something. This is with a simple point and shoot, nothing fancy. I realize editing software can only change whats there, not work miracles. But you have to know what to look for to know what to fix i guess.
Attached Images

Old Feb 28, 2007, 10:34 AM   #4

Attached Images

Old Feb 28, 2007, 10:37 AM   #5

Attached Images

Old Feb 28, 2007, 12:54 PM   #6

For starters don't use a program to downsize that strips the EXIF. People can be a lot more helpful if they can read the EXIF. If you "save for web" even Photoshop will strip the EXIF. Tell us what program you are using for editing.

I don't see anything wrong with any of those photos. Many people feel that enhancing photos interferes with the scene as it was seen. I tend to mess with them.

There is a function in Photoshop CS and higher and also in Elements I think called Shadow/Highlight. What is does is increase the shadows without blowing the highlights. If you don't have an editor with shadow/highlight you can do pretty much the same thing with a technique called contrast masking. Look up a tutorial for your editor or adapt one – it is pretty simple.