Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Jun 29, 2007, 9:22 AM   #1

I am still learning about composition and the tradeoffs associated with capturing the most pleasing versions of photos. I would like to get opinions on my take for the photos attached. The first is the original, the second is cropped for what I thought was a more pleasing picture. Any opinions with details so I can continue to learn would be most helpful. Thanks in advance.

Also any help on how to get two photos in the same message would be great too.
Attached Images

TBAY is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 29, 2007, 9:26 AM   #2

The edited version
Attached Images

Old Jun 29, 2007, 12:47 PM   #3

I'm a big fan of context. While the second shot makes the detail of the pier more visible, the first shows how lonely and fragile that pier is. And since you're in New Jersey, I presume that's a "Red Sky at Morning." If I lived on that pier, I'd be headed inland right about now. See http://www.loc.gov/rr/scitech/myster...er-sailor.html

Cropping is useful for removing unwanted context. You decide what context you want and don't want, but I prefer the first image.

TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2007, 3:31 PM   #4

TCav,

It did in fact rain that day after a somewhat pleasant prior evening. The link you provided was an intersting read and provided some food for thought so far as composition goes. I think you have given me a good memory about my vacation that morning that somewhat makes up for the fact that we lost a good part of that day to less than desirable conditions. Thanks for the input.
Old Jun 29, 2007, 3:38 PM   #5

I agree with Tcav, the first shot is excellent.
Wintershooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2007, 5:41 PM   #6
Super Moderator