Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Oct 16, 2007, 1:47 PM   #1

Just curious how "professional" this photo is. Im an aspiring photographer...

Thanks!
Attached Images

benz4matik is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 16, 2007, 2:33 PM   #2

I dont know what you mean by professional but I cant see anything wrong with your shot. I like the composition, the exposure is spot on and your depth of field is excellent. Most important your subject is pleasing to look at. To me the only difference between good professional and good amateur is the amount of money received.
Bynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2007, 3:28 PM   #3

While Bynx makes many excellent points, I find myself staring at the subject's hands, and I honestly have no idea why they should be the center of attention in this photo.

tclune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2007, 4:52 PM   #4

Let me preface my remarks by saying that I don't generally like B&W.

Maybe the color of her hat and the color of her top aren't black, but in this shot, she looks like she just came from a funeral. If she did, then I'm sorry for her loss, but if not, then that's probably not the message you want the photo to have.

Like tclune, I think her hands curiously dominate the image.

The setting is nice, and technically, it's a good photo, but while your girlfriend is quite attractive, as the subject of this photo, she's out of place.

Perhaps it would be better in color.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2007, 5:51 PM   #5