Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Jul 1, 2008, 10:28 AM   #1

Hi. I was looking for some critique on a picture I shot recently with my XTi. I ran 3 different versions of it while post processing and I've looked at them too much and they all look the same now. If you could, I'd be interested to get some feedback on:
  1. Which pic looks best (if any)? [/*]
  2. What I might do to improve the shot (framing the shot, post processing, etc...)? [/*]
  3. How crappy is my photography skill?
Any help would be appreciated! I'm still a bit noob with my dSLR and I'm a little sure of how the pavement turned out during post processing. I'm not sure ifthe latter is because it'stoobusy with all the cracks or a contrast issue because of the dark background but it was still bright behind me (the rain was coming towards me).

I used the following:
[/*]
  1. Camera: Canon Xti (400D) [/*]
  2. Lens: Sigma 24-70 f/2.8 [/*]
  3. Filters: UV and circular polarizer[/*]
Any help would be appreciated! I'm continually looking to improve. Thanks!

Image 1:

Image 2 (same as Image 1 but cropped and slightly different levels and contrast)

Image3 (basically the same as Image 2 but with a little bit more contrast)

mofo13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 1, 2008, 11:40 AM   #2

The pic looks ok. I was thinking the following:

How would a black car look with a lighter background. Would that be better?

The car's details are not visible as the side is too dark. I would use a fill flash to light up the details.

Use your camera on it's side and capture the picture a bit closer. It's the car that's the subject. Too much space.

Last: Can i lend your car?
feetjai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2008, 12:47 PM   #3

i like the 3rd one better but car is a little too dark, so in photoshop with a gradiant overlay i darkened the sky and lightened the car shadows

improvement??