Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Jul 18, 2008, 2:47 PM   #1

Hi!

Please let me know what is wrong with this picture. I am a newbie that wants to learn, and this place is a great school. If you don't mind, list all my beginner's mistakes and "have no mercy" :-)

Thanks!

http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m...stel/int-1.jpg
artmustel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 18, 2008, 4:27 PM   #2

Quote:
and "have no mercy" :-)

Ok! Here we go...

Looks overexposed by the flashlight and much crowded at the first sight! I'd clone out the flying bugto the left bottom, for example... Btw, what's the other bug doing therenext tomy favourite flower:? You'd make a macro of that bug closer if you really found it interesting!! I also found the white backdrop is a bit much distracting! Looking for criticism,you should have included the exif

Now, am I notmerciles enough ??:GWell, joke aside, I'd use the slow sync. for the flash for a natural look and a shallow aperture a less distracting background. I'd also try to eliminate anything which would distract from my subject.

Cheers,

Bahadır

bahadir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2008, 5:22 PM   #3

I, too, have trouble using a flash with flowers - I've tried various materials as diffusers. I'm having more success using a coffee filter (I really should try cutting down a plastic alcohol bottle). I'll have to try the slow sync suggested by Bahadir, hadn't thought about that. So often flash makes an object, especially flowers, look flat and over-processed. I've been experimenting with using a flash off-camera but still haven't figured it all out yet.