Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Dec 2, 2008, 11:03 PM   #1

What would you call this picture... macro? just a normal shot? snapshot?

I would appreciate some feedback on these two. Thanks ahead of time. Ryan

PS, I'm still playing around with my new D80, going on three weeks and I just love this camera. Hopefully Santa brings some new glass this Christmas.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/3078369049/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/3079195608/

syke is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 3, 2008, 12:02 PM   #2

Is the flag picture not in good taste?
Old Dec 3, 2008, 4:14 PM   #3

Hi Syke,

Congrats on your new camera! Hope it gives youmuch pleasure and many memories.

First off, I'm not a professional photographer-just a guy who enjoys taking pictures so take what I say with a grain of salt. But from my perspective photography is much like art in that it's quite subjective. What may look great to you may not look so interesting to others. After all, we take pictures to please us first and hopefully others second.

Having said that, as far as your photos are concerned, I like the first one better than the 2nd. The issue I have with it is that the cropping doesn't draw the viewers eye to anything in particular. From my perspective, if you focused on the stars, as an example and made them the focal point it would improve the image. Also, the angle of the stripes and stars is at an awkward angle(IMHO). I think the image would be quite a bit better if it the "Flag" was vertical or horizontal.

The issue I have with the 2nd image is that i'm not sure what you want the viewer to look at. I'm not really drawn into anything in particular.

As for your question regarding are the photo's subject appropriate? - Absolutely. If the flag was on fire - now that wouldn't be good thing.